Tuesday, 14 May 2019

Fraser 's night at AFCB Player Awards Evening 2019

I was looking forward to tuning into the AFCB player awards evening. It was not that AFCB had smashed all records, but there was plenty to celebrate about gaining another year in the Premier League and having spoken in the week to comedian and Man City supporter Lee Nelson to inform him a bit about the Cherries' players, I wondered who he would pick out to have a bit of fun with, but sadly that part of the evening was not to be streamed - perhaps wisely!
Official AFCB photo of the awards.
The serious awards were what fans were allowed to see. Chartered Accountants, Strategic Solutions, and Automotive group, Westover Group were sponsoring the event, which kicked off the live streaming, a bit later than scheduled - Jeff Mostyn had a few words to say to the audience, with Kris Temple of the Bournemouth Echo and Laura Woods of Sky Sports hosting. There were nine trophy's to hand out starting with the Community Player award by the AFCB Community Sports Trust, which went to Nathan Aké.

The Youth Team player Award was presented by AFCB's U18 manager Alan Connell to striker Jake Scrimshaw, who enjoyed playing for the U18s, U21s and Poole Town. Steve Cuss, Head of Community, announced the Women's player of the Year, which went to Meg Vella who scored 26 goals in 23 games.

The U21 Player of the season was presented by the U21 manager Shaun Cooper and it went to Sam Surridge, who played on loan at Oldham scoring 12 goals in 20 games as well as gaining a Premier League debut for AFCB at Arsenal's ground. The John Harris unsung hero award was presented by the management team, Stephen Purches, Simon Weatherstone and Eddie Howe to Alice Jeans who has always been amazing when I've had a question on AFCB.

The supporters player of the season saw Andrew Surman get up on stage hand the gong out to Wee-man, Ryan Fraser. The goal of the season award came next with lots of contenders. The award was presented by Charlie Daniels to Jefferson Lerma ,even though Charlie himself voted for Gozza's goal against Brighton - nice one Charlie! Jefferson left it late to pick a match to score his best goal, but he was immensely happy about it. I think Lee Nelson had given Lerma his own a word for best own goal earlier in the evening.
Ryan was full of praise for his team-mates for his great season.
The golden boot award was presented by Jason Tindall and Steve Fletcher to Callum Wilson, who is looking forward to representing England this summer in the nation's League. The final Players' Player award was handed out by captain Simon Francis. The four entries were David Brooks, Nathan Aké, Ryan Fraser and  Callum Wilson with the prize going to Wee-man! Ryan might not know much about Gary McAllister, but he has set a new Scottish record for Premier League assists.

No comments:

Post a Comment